Terroir with a rugged accent

“Nature is at the crux of this wine region – these are not vineyards in the middle of nowhere. In Faugères, these are vineyards set amidst garrigue or scrubland, which has a major influence on the typicity of our top wines. This is unique and cannot be relocated, it is the very essence of our appellations of origin”.

Nathalie Caumette, chair of the Faugères appellation, April 2017


Faugères. A wine region with an accent – a rugged accent.

Unique natural resources conspire to produce wines with an unmistakable Faugères stamp. Every day, wine growers set out both to protect that environment, and interpret it. 

The climate and schist soils place a natural cap on yields, restricting them to an average 33 hectolitres per hectare.

Nevertheless, the vines of Faugères show lots of vigour because they are protected, cooled and sustained by the unspoilt natural surroundings that envelop them, and they are pampered by the wine growers who lavish tender loving care on them. 

Fully trained to slide their roots into the cracks and crevices between the bedrock in search of water deep underground, they are able to withstand extreme heat.

The fruit thus produces concentrated terroir-driven juice that fully reveals all these natural elements in the wines: the minerality of the schist, the aromas of garrigue herbs, the strength of the sunlight and the coolness of high altitude woodlands. 

Viewed as peculiar when Languedoc was the powerhouse of French wine production, Faugères wine growers had made no mistake – Faugères is an outstanding location for growing excellent wines, by Nature! 

On the basis of this, they constantly ramp up their efforts to preserve this unique location by (re-) developing many eco-friendly techniques.

Terroir à l'accent sauvage

La nature est au cœur du terroir : ce ne sont pas des vignes au milieu de rien. A Faugères, ce sont des vignes dans un environnement de garrigues qui ont une incidence forte sur la typicité de nos grands vins. C’est unique et non délocalisable, c’est l’essence même des appellations d’origine.
Nathalie Caumette, Présidente de l’AOP Faugères, Avril 2017.


Faugères. Un terroir avec l'accent. L'accent sauvage.




C'est la ressource naturelle singulière du territoire qui permet d’élaborer des vins marqués du sceau de l’AOC Faugères. Chaque jour, les vignerons s'en font donc à la fois les protecteurs et les interprètes.

Le climat et les sols de schistes n’autorisent que des rendements naturellement faibles, avec une moyenne de 33 hectolitres par hectare.

Mais protégées, rafraichies et soutenues par la nature sauvage qui les enlacent, choyées par les vignerons qui les cultivent avec passion, les vignes de Faugères sont vigoureuses. 

Bien entrainées à glisser leurs racines dans les fissures et cassures de la roche-mère pour aller chercher de l’eau en profondeur, elles résistent aux fortes chaleurs.

Les raisins concentrent alors des "jus de terroir"dont on retrouve toutes les caractéristiques naturelles dans les vins : la minéralité des schistes, les arômes de garrigues, la puissance du soleil et la fraîcheur des bois d’altitude.

Observés avec curiosité à l’époque du Languedoc productiviste, les vignerons ne s’y sont donc pas trompés : le terroir de Faugères est exceptionnel et permet d’élaborer de très Grands Vins… de Nature !

Forts de ce constat, ils s'attachent à préserver toujours mieux leur terroir en (re-)développant de nombreuses écopratiques.

img-position-left img-border-shadow img-border-pill img-content-medium

img-position-right img-border-shadow img-border-pill img-content-medium